Start where you are


Untitled
© 2014 Salil Lawande. All right reserved.

Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can. ~ Arthur Ashe (American World No. 1 Professional Tennis Player)

The important thing is to start. Once you start and if you are paying attention to the process, you will soon realize that powers you never thought you had will leap to your assistance. It’s that simple and as simple as it sounds, it is as it is difficult to gain that perspective. You need to start in order to gain the momentum to keep going.

The important thing is to start.

I look back regretfully at the many years I lost always looking for (and finding) inspiration but not doing enough to capitalize on the lessons I learned. I feel I wasted too much time perfecting my work that I now look back and see that it lacks a certain amount of depth. It was the lost years of rabid cross processing and sepia tones which looked nice at the time but does not stand the test of time.

Use what you have.

So what was the point of spending so much time in the first place is the question I keep I asking myself. Evolution is inevitable and whatever you create today, and love deeply might be something you might not identify with say a year or so down the line. Happens to me all the time. I can barely identify with the work I did. And it makes me happy. For I know that I changed. My values at the time of creation, and now when I look at those frozen frames is different. The best photo quote I ever heard goes as follows:

“ Which of my photographs is my favorite? The one I’m going to take tomorrow. ~ Imogen Cunningham  (American Photographer)

You should spend time. Its vital to the learning process. But you to need to also put a stop of the incessant, endless tweaking and ship (upload, share) your creation. It can be anything. Text, Photos, Doodles …anything. If you feel the time’s right, share it. See if it flies or drops dead. The important thing is to start and start with a belief that you know what you are doing, how you are doing it and more importantly, loving what you are bringing to life.

Thank you

Thank you for stopping by. Have a nice day ahead. May the force be with you. 

About 

Salil Lawande is a writer, photographer and illustrator living/working/traveling in India.

Online Presence

WordPress | Behance | Tumblr

Connect 

Google + | Twitter | Flickr | Instagram

Copyright & Licensing

Copyright | Licensing

2 thoughts on “Start where you are

Comments

