Fighting the old


Time by Sean MacEntee
Image Credit: Time by Sean MacEntee (Flickr)

“The secret of change is to focus all of your energy not on fighting the old, but on building the new.” ~ Socrates (Classical Greek Philosopher)

Too often I focus on the past, think of all the blunders I made and the opportunities I missed when it came to a shoot or a creative endeavor. Places where I could have done more but held back. I constantly worry about the photos that do not look so good (to me now), to pull those pesky images down from all the countless services I had uploaded them on and put new, re-edited ones in their place.

I have a tendency to constantly focus on my creative mistakes.

I have a tendency to constantly focus on my creative mistakes, blunders and errors and I do it so often and so intensely that I end up blurring out the present and losing my precious NOW time. Precious irretrievable time. Time (and energy) I could have used on a new project. Maybe a new mistake, but a lesson and a learning for better output in the future.

I end up blurring out the present and losing my precious NOW time.

Instead of stumbling time and again over the same (old) things, the important next step after the conclusion of a project is  to stop trying forever to make amends; tinkering and tweaking old projects and work instead on newer ones. While it is important to learn from mistakes, dwelling on them for too long only kills the motivation and momentum (vital and crucial) needed for the creative process that demands unwavering energy and focus. The ideal thing to do is pick up the pieces and be eager to move on to the next learning exercise/project that will make me better than what I am right now.

Thank you

Thank you for stopping by. Have a nice day ahead. May the force be with you. 

About 

Salil Lawande is a writer, photographer and illustrator living/working/traveling in India.

Online Presence

WordPress | Behance | Tumblr

Connect 

Google + | Twitter | Flickr | Instagram

Copyright & Licensing

Copyright | Licensing

Comments

