Stepping out of my comfort zone


Outside my comfort zone by Lars Plougmann
Image Credit: Outside my comfort zone by Lars Plougmann (Flickr)

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.” ~ Neale Donald Walsch  (Author)

Creativity is a walk on the ‘other’ side. The side that is not so pleasant. A side that is full of surprises, disappointments, anger, angst, frustration and suffering. I have been on the comfort side for more than my share of time. I intermittently get out only to slip back right again. Huffing and puffing trying to catch the breath I lost at the time of the little leap I took on the other side. The other side of the fence that is open to critique, derision, mockery and so on.

Stepping out of the comfort zone is all about showing your ‘other’ side to people. The side they didn’t know about. The side that surprises them. The side that shocks, appalls, jars, outrages, scandalizes, offends, jolts and all the other human emotions that you might experience as your work is judged by complete strangers, friends, peers, and creatives that have made it.

Time to go forth.

And while I keep focusing on the negative end of the spectrum of what I will receive from the ‘other’ side,  I often fail to realize that a major part of where I feel I have reached today is because of those few tiny voices that came from close quarters or nowhere. Those voices that shouted out from the large swathes of indifference that gave encouragement to the work I did.

Time to step out of the comfort zone.

Too often I remind myself of those rewards that are waiting out there. No gushing accolades or high praises, but those voices that always stand by, wait patiently for the next work I share and whole heartedly participate in the briefest melee that ensues. Those are the voices that motivate me and those are the voices I always look forward to engaging with. Time to go forth. Time to step out of the comfort zone.

Thank you: To all those voices that have always been there and the voices that keep egging me on. Couldn’t have done it without you.

Thank you

Thank you for stopping by. Have a nice day ahead. May the force be with you. 

About 

Salil Lawande is a writer, photographer and illustrator living/working/traveling in India.

Online Presence

WordPress | Behance | Tumblr

Connect 

Google + | Twitter | Flickr | Instagram

Copyright & Licensing

Copyright | Licensing

Comments

