Taking my chances


Hey Now, You're An All Star by Ananth Nath Sharma
Image Credit: Hey Now, You’re An All Star by Ananth Nath Sharma (Flickr)

“I have written a great many stories and I still don’t know how to go about it except to write it and take my chances.” ~ John Steinbeck

Here’s how the cookie crumbles. I don’t take my chances. The workflow is simple. Dream-do-share. Instead, I ruminate, vacillate, then ruminate a little more, then vacillate and finally scuttling the boat I am in by vacillating a little more and then not doing anything about it at all. Net output of all the work I did – a big Giant ZERO. The point being, I do not share my work as much as I should.

A big Giant ZERO.
Image Credit: Zero by John (Flickr)
Image Credit: Zero by John (Flickr)

I don’t go all guns blazing. I don’t go beyond the usual toe dipping to check how cold the water really is. In this case, the coldness of the whole, wide world (pun intended) and what ‘IT’ will collectively think of what I put out there. To bring things back to perspective before you make a judgment about how I am when it comes to working – I am speaking of the ills that plague the chances I take with my creative output. What I do with it once it is ‘ready’ (it is never ready, ask any creative) and is acceptable to me leave alone anyone else.

 

I guess I am tired of not taking chances when I can.

I create. Regularly. I create, and some more, and some more, and more and then finally close the laptop, the notepad or the sketchbook that I am working on and move on to the next thing that hits my radar. I don’t finish the process of sharing the stuff I worked so hard on. The process of putting it out there to flourish/dry/die in the harsh/mellow/indifferent sun of worldly brotherhood/sisterhood. Those secret voices that always encourage me to pick up the pen/pencil/camera to go try again.

I guess I am tired of not taking chances when I can. When I should. The time is NOW. The opportunity is NOW. Everything I knew, know and will know has culminated in the fleeting NOW. Taking chances. Taking them NOW.

Thank you

Thank you for stopping by. Have a nice day ahead. May the force be with you. 

About 

Salil Lawande is a writer, photographer and illustrator living/working/traveling in India.

Online Presence

WordPress | Behance | Tumblr

Connect 

Google + | Twitter | Flickr | Instagram

Copyright & Licensing

Copyright | Licensing

Comments

