Doing the DO


No palco do céu by Eduardo Amorim
Image Credit: No palco do céu by Eduardo Amorim (Flickr)

“If you’re not making mistakes, then you’re not doing anything. I’m positive that a doer makes mistakes. ~ John Wooden

I am great believer in planning. And I plan all the time. The next shoot, the next project, the next thing I need to get done. However, planning never amounts to much if there is little DOING happening in the background. While I DO whatever I can at any given point, the critical mass that needs to be reached for the planning stage (how I will share my work, should I sell prints, should I take part in a creative fair, should I approach magazines, etc.) is futile if there is not enough DONE to begin with.

Doing is a constant rough and tumble of unforgivable mistakes.

Doing is vital. And while most of the time I don’t step back from doing, I do less. And that is a major issue that needs to be dealt with.  Doing is a constant rough and tumble of unforgivable (but livable) mistakes that you might look back and wonder why you did them to begin with. However, I constantly need to remind myself that if there is a lack of commitment in the doing, the DONE and the there on – PLANNING and so on is of no consequence.

Get it done. Nothing else should matter. You will be wiser for it.

I did something this week. I went out, I shot, I got a few pictures that I will eventually put up here. Maybe when my body of work reaches a critical mass and till I am able to irk, amuse and annoy people with my presence ONLINE and offline, I will DO.  I will get it done. Nothing else should matter. And I will be wiser for it. And that’s a promise.

Thank you

Thank you for stopping by. Have a nice day ahead. May the force be with you. 

About 

Salil Lawande is a writer, photographer and illustrator living/working/traveling in India.

Online Presence

WordPress | Behance | Tumblr

Connect 

Google + | Twitter | Flickr | Instagram

Copyright & Licensing

Copyright | Licensing

Comments

